Question about the turbo lag on the WRX.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zee

Legacy Member
Hey guys,

I am asking questions all over the forum before i finally decide what car to buy. Seeing as the WRX is on my list of choices, i have a question for you owners.

- How bad is the turbo lag? I never driven a turbo engine but people keep telling me the turbo lag is bad? How does that work? Do i have to wait 1-2seconds before i get the juice when i press the pedal?

- Is there a way to minimize that turbo lag?

- Are the WRx faster than the Type-s?

All information is welcome guys. Keep in mind i have little knowledge on cars, getting there slowly.

Thanks

Zee said:
Hey guys,

I am asking questions all over the forum before i finally decide what car to buy. Seeing as the WRX is on my list of choices, i have a question for you owners.

- How bad is the turbo lag? I never driven a turbo engine but people keep telling me the turbo lag is bad? How does that work? Do i have to wait 1-2seconds before i get the juice when i press the pedal?

All information is welcome guys. Keep in mind i have little knowledge on cars, getting there slowly.

Thanks

Are you planning on getting the 06 WRX or the 05? cause the 06 has a 2.5L engine so you won't feel as much lag. You just need to keep the needle in the turbo range, i.e. RPM 2.5K+. If you're talking about launching the car, just rev it up to 4-5K and go.

And yeah, it is faster than the type-S or the type-R, stock for stock. I love Hondas, great cars. I had an SIR and an RSX, but for about the same price as the type-S, you get AWD, more power, and 4 doors.

Best thing for you to do is to testdrive one. You won't be disappointed. If you have the cash though, go for the STi, it's a totally different beast.

Good luck.

Last edited:
Zee said:
Hey guys,

Thanks

uppipe solves the turbo lag issue with the stock td04. type s is a different animal- its slower in almost all respects