Need some advise pls

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

badb0i98si

Hi guys. I'm pretty new to the scene and to the msg board. I got a 98 si coupe last summer and since then have been feeling the need to be faster. i DO NOT want to get a swap in there for now so i am looking for some ideas of what i can do with the stock engine. So far i have a Air intake/ DC 4-1 headers / Feilds V-Tec controller / By spring time i should have a Cat back exhaust / Some sort of Lowering Springs, and a Zex Street/Strip Performance camshaft. After this i don't really know where to go. I would like to keep the car N/A. Like i said i am pretty new at this so if any of you can help me out it would be apreciated. Thanks!

Since you want to stay NA, then you may want to consider a bigger throttle body and possibly a port and polished head. B18BCivic has a ported head on a non-vtec Integra motor and it seems to be working well for him.

I don't have any info on the Zex made cams, but if it were my motor I would stick to the name brand items like JUN, Toda or Type R cams. The last thing you need is cheap parts in the motor. Mabye the Zex are good but I can't say.

You say that you don't want an engine swap for now. In that case..may I sugest that you just wait till you do go for the swap before dumping cash into your ride. You could still do all the boltons with your si engine...but it will all go to waste!

I know this is not what you wanted to hear...but it's your best best (moneywise)..... just a suggestion.

danny zex is a name brand,there notorious for nos systems,i beleive that is what there cams are intended for,you would be better off with type-r cams,cheeper price and just as good and wont take 3 months to get!