Damaged Mother board...Where can I buy a replacement, and is it worth it?

patrickd_21

Hey guys,

I have a Vaio PCG-81214L Laptop and I recently dropped it and damaged the motherboard. I'm a pretty big newb when it comes to computers, so I have the following questions:

- Is it worth buying a new motherboard? The computer is MORE than more than fast enough for what I do with it.
- I'm looking for the cheapest solution
- If it's cheaper to change the mother board, where can I get one?

Thanks for your help in advance!

Are you sure that the motherboard is damaged?

Usually not worth it, motherboards for laptops are usually 150$+ + installation(complete dissassembly and reassembly of the laptop)
You can get them on ebay.

Usually when you drop a laptop the Hard drive can be damaged, because it is fragile due to moving parts inside.

The motherboard on a friend's Dell XPS failed. He ordered the exact same one from ebay, from a seller with a good reputation. 85$ with shipping. Took him about one hour to do the installation using a youtube video, and he has no experience in these things. Works great so far and didn't cost much.

Are you sure that the motherboard is damaged?

Usually not worth it, motherboards for laptops are usually 150$+ + installation(complete dissassembly and reassembly of the laptop)
You can get them on ebay.

Usually when you drop a laptop the Hard drive can be damaged, because it is fragile due to moving parts inside.

90% sure. I thought it was the HD at first. Had the IT guy at work swap it out. Still didnt work...He said it was the motherboard.

The motherboard on a friend's Dell XPS failed. He ordered the exact same one from ebay, from a seller with a good reputation. 85$ with shipping. Took him about one hour to do the installation using a youtube video, and he has no experience in these things. Works great so far and didn't cost much.

This is promising lol