Golf / Jetta TDI Question

CoolIT

As a road tech, I need a fuel efficient car and here I am considering getting my first VW TDI...

I have a few concerns however...
www.carsurvey.org
I check there and read customer reviews before buying any car and it has served me quite well.. obviously I use common sense to filter stupidity.

But it looks as if there is an alarming amount of people who have had bad luck with their Jetta or Golf between years 2000 and 2006.
Will my windows fall off the track ? will my electronics fail ? will the car implode ?

I found a lot of TDI's in my price range (3000 to 7000$)
Almost all of them have 150000km to 240000km
Is it true that those engines run easy 350000km ? Obviously I want a car that comes with service history.

I am looking for input from TDI owners and a few tips.
Also if anyone knows a good Diesel mechanic for an inspection it would be great

Thanks

You can run way more than 350 000 kms with those engines... Golf TDI will be my next car, looking to get a fuel efficient car as well because I do too much mileage in a year. Haven't heard any badlucks on those cars though...

You can run way more than 350 000 kms with those engines... Golf TDI will be my next car, looking to get a fuel efficient car as well because I do too much mileage in a year. Haven't heard any badlucks on those cars though...

tu vit sous une roche lol ....

had a Jetta 2001 ....

1. Get over 2003 PLEASE
2. This car was a CANCER
3. I would buy a over 2006 ANYday
4. I miss my Jetta

Usual MK4 stories...
Go for a MKV instead, what you'll end up paying more on the purchase price you'll save it in headaches especially since you're looking at high mileage car. They weren't VW's best years.

You can always look up on www.vwvortex.com or in the VW section, the subject has been discussed alot.

PS : Unitronic. :D

As a road tech, I need a fuel efficient car and here I am considering getting my first VW TDI...

I have a few concerns however...
www.carsurvey.org