Run for your life.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tenassi

Banned
I have decided to work on my cardiovascular system. Running in the streets is what I do when I have nothing to do. Are there runners on this forum that could give me some tips ? I am a beginner and I would like to start properly. My present program consists of running for about one kilometer per day. Share your thoughts.

one km? thats like eating a grape and calling it dinner.

get a good bike and go out and explore the city. use the things your tax $$ pay for.

It's true that running on concrete or asphalt can be harsh on your knees/legs, but it helps if you get a proper pair of running shoes. If you can, find a path you can run along, such as parks and whatnot.

Also, if you find varying degrees of terrain (running uphill/downhill), it would be good for you, as you're not constantly running at the same pace, with the same effort.

I actually just got a new pair of running shoes for outside, and one of those new iPod clip-shuffles. :D Since the weather got warmer, I've been planning to go out for a jog everyday that I can. I have a few pairs for indoor running (I'd run on the treadmill mostly), but thought the padding was too soft, and got shin splints when I ran outside with them. The iPod is so that I don't have to hold a heavy ass 30gb running around town. Put a bit of money and make it more enjoyable for yourself.

one km? thats like eating a grape and calling it dinner.

get a good bike and go out and explore the city. use the things your tax $$ pay for.

He did say he's just beginning. One thing most beginners do is try to start off too quick, which kills their motivation to work out.

There's nothing wrong with running either. It's a weight bearing exercises which will allow his bones to gain more density, reducing the risk of any bone-related diseases in the future. :p