Can brake cleaner kill abs sensors?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aleckxss

To make a long story short:

My ABS light came on a few days ago. After visually searching for the problem without success, I finally got the code scanned. Right front sensor.

I come back home and take the wheel off, and I finally see the cable going to the sensor is almost cut (could see the copper from the two wires inside) because is was rubbing against the tie-rod end's cutter pin (I had misplaced the cable when I changed a wheel bearing). OK, then I cut the cable, I resolder everything, route the cable correctly this time, and put the wheel back on. I'm pretty sure my soldering skills are more than ok for this job, I've been soldering for about 15 years

The ABS light is still on... But I remember when the problem started, the light kept turning on and off for the first few days. So if I fixed the problem, the light should turn on and my ABS start working again?

Two days before the light first came on, I cleaned my brakes thoroughly with an old can of brake cleaner I had. Is it possible that I killed the sensor by cleaning the brakes? Or do I need to pay again to get my codes cleared? :dunno:

Thanks

Disconnect the battery for like 30 seconds, that should clear the codes.

And like silverbullet said, they sell ABS Safe brake cleaner so maybe the old stuff had a chemical in it that ruined sensors.

J'ai pas eu besoin d'effacer le code ABS dans ma Nissan quand j'ai changé le capteur. Il s'est éteint aussiôt que j'ai démarré. P-e que sur ta Maxima c'est différent sinon ton sensor est encore defect.

Freine dans le fond, tu vas savoir si le capteur est défectueux, ta roue va barrer et ça va laisser une trace.

Sur mon nettoyant à frein, c'est indiqué ''safe for ABS'' alors p-e que ton produit ne l'est pas?